Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

21/11/17

Year 5 have been researching and creating Chinese blue willow plates in art. Look at this amazing example! https://t.co/UCEycsMUR5

17/11/17

Whole school attendance for the term so far is 96.45% and in line with the National Average. https://t.co/csbYxTjCBD

17/11/17

Shanah and Mollie in Year 1 have been looking at old toys. Here is their wonderful writing! https://t.co/L0JITzxe9I

17/11/17

Reception children are eating owl ice cream, roasted fox (butternut squash) and scrambled snake! (scrambled egg) They tasted, “fluffy”, “like plantain”, and ”yummy”. https://t.co/XednmdY8i2

16/11/17

Year 2 are learning all about nocturnal animals so they have created these wonderful barn owl collages! https://t.co/ne7XFJCh2b

13/11/17

Hello. We are not supporting this year as we are focusing on just one charity this term.

13/11/17

Today in assembly we thought about and how we are all different but all equal. We celebrated the 9 children who did something unique and different by competing in Bromley cross country on Saturday. https://t.co/LU1cm91slt

11/11/17

Well done to our only Year 6 boy runner for showing amazing resilience after being elbowed at the start line. He kept going and finished!

11/11/17

Team 6 girl runners stayed together and finished together at Bromley cross country this morning. So of you! https://t.co/or1Vwpqhku

11/11/17

Our super star Year 5 boys runners are back at Crystal Palace cross country https://t.co/HuNT92H7Yf

11/11/17

Super proud of our Year 5 girl runner placing 58th in the Bromley cross country race at Crystal Palace this morning! https://t.co/cGgICeiz07

09/11/17

Reception had a wonderful trip to to enjoy a world inside a book. “I’m going to have lunch with a gruffalo” https://t.co/4vIhNCYFzN

09/11/17

Today in English Year 1 had to choose the best instructions to follow to make a jam sandwich! https://t.co/WzUF55L4kj

07/11/17

Year 6 into science. Masterclass with Mr Brown: dissection of a sheep’s heart to understand how a heart works. https://t.co/Xk5vW81HIk

07/11/17

Year 5 are having a great experience producing their own videos with Tim about Space. https://t.co/a7nHvbtP4b

06/11/17

Tim from made a short pirate film in assembly. Miss Bell was the pirate villain fighting the bravest Captain in the land. https://t.co/dDKl5NL7yM

05/11/17

Retweetd From amy nash

Very impressed with the open morning - daughter sold on the school. Informative and children were very engaged in learning. Thank you

03/11/17

Reception children joining in with bonfire night customs and traditions whilst also looking closely at change. https://t.co/Itd6MeF9K4

03/11/17

Retweetd From Harris Careers

. is looking for a class teacher to work with its amazing community of children. Apply now: https://t.co/BGPmquR0tq https://t.co/iSXwZqyMrf

03/11/17

Retweetd From Overbes

My son is in year 2. I can confidently recommend as a brilliant school. My son loves it and the teaching is outstanding.

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Primary Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Mr Paul Robinson, at the Academy

Please contact him via the office manager:

Vikki Melhuish using the details below

Telephone: 01689 830383
Email: info@harrisprimaryorpington.org.uk  
Address: Harris Primary Academy Orpington, Dyke Drive, Orpington, Kent, BR5 4LZ

If your complaint is about the Executive Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors also through Vikki Melhuish

Complaints Procedure

 


 

Privacy Notice

PRIVACY NOTICE for the school workforce employed or otherwise engaged to work at a Harris Federation school

Privacy Notice - Data Protection Act 1998

The Harris Federation are the Data Controller for the purposes of the Data Protection Act.

Personal data is held by the schools about those employed or otherwise engaged to work at the schools.  This is to assist in the smooth running of the schools and/or enable individuals to be paid.  This personal data includes some or all of the following:  identifiers such as name and National Insurance Number; characteristics such as ethnic group; employment contract and remuneration details; post “A” level qualifications; and absence information.

The collection of this information will benefit both national and local users by:

•    improving the management of school workforce data across the sector;
•    enabling a comprehensive picture of the workforce and how it is deployed to be built up;
•    informing the development of recruitment and retention policies;
•    allowing better financial modeling and planning;
•    enabling ethnicity and disability monitoring;
•    supporting the work of the School Teacher Review Board and the School Support Staff Negotiating Body.

We are required to pass on some of this data to the Department for Education (DfE)

If you require more information about how the DfE store and use this data please go to the following website:
•    https://www.gov.uk/data-protection-how-we-collect-and-share-research-data
•    If you are unable to access this website, please contact the Harris Federation or the DfE as follows:

Harris Federation of South London Schools
4th Floor, Norfolk House
Wellesley Road
Croydon 
CR0 1LH
Website: www.harrisfederation.org.uk
Email: Info@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777

Public Communications Unit
Department for Education
Sanctuary Buildings
Great Smith Street
London
SW1P 3BT
Website: www.education.gov.uk
Email: info@education.gsi.gov.uk
Telephone: 0370 000 2288

We will not give information about you to anyone outside the school, Harris Federation or the DfE without your consent unless the law and our rules allow us to.

 


 

Freedom of Information

 

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer

 

 


 

Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

Back to key info