Twitter

13/02/20

EYFS WOW Day - are you a pirate or a dinosaur? EYFS are discovering their inner explorers .... what will they find? https://t.co/MzhPLu6ca3

06/02/20

Next up....its Tony Hadley lighting up the O2 at https://t.co/nR2Ty8qW6r

06/02/20

Go HPAO! And a big wave to all the parents and carers cheering our fab pupils on at the O2 tonight https://t.co/9XHmhfumzG

06/02/20

Looks like a good time being had at ! https://t.co/u2S2SlJo2i

06/02/20

Update from the HPAO contingent at https://t.co/Hj6yVa9xOa

06/02/20

Our singers have arrived at the O2 and are ready for rehearsals. https://t.co/f4NISSxxXv

31/01/20

Which bit goes where? Year 6 getting to the heart of the matter with a dissection science activity https://t.co/wBl4pkBvwK

30/01/20

Some great tag rugby skills being honed in Year 5 this afternoon. Rain does not stop play at HPAO! https://t.co/Pwn32NZk6z

08/11/19

After our very own week of hustings and fevered voting, our new House Captains are in office! https://t.co/piOAwIJdPu

19/10/19

Princess Royal marks 30 years of mud and magic in Pembrokeshire https://t.co/mrjcqT4Lyw

18/10/19

Retweetd From Matt Britt

What an amazing experience!! 👍👍👍 https://t.co/O2DJ42VCUq

18/10/19

We are on our way home and already missing Treginnis Farm! A lovely goodbye this morning from all the staff and children, we even had a few tears! What an excellent week for our Year 6s! https://t.co/qFKqyp6L3K

17/10/19

A great farewell evening at Treginnis Farm! The children have had the most incredible week filled with so many new memories. We are so proud of them all and everything they have achieved! Another special well done to our farmers of the week! https://t.co/AckM8xGDHy

17/10/19

This morning’s beautiful trip to Porthlysgi Bay 🏝 https://t.co/d6MvhrAyXL

17/10/19

A very special day at Treginnis Farm for our wonderful children! Meeting Her Royal Highness Princess Anne and the incredible author Michael Morpugo, who shared a story with the children! https://t.co/3eDy3ujOW3

17/10/19

Last nights birthday fun and pizza evening 🎉 https://t.co/yU2bpbPA7S

16/10/19

Lots more fun, smiles and laughter! https://t.co/ixVhkUyJAE

15/10/19

Another busy day at Treginnis! Visiting the local city of St David’s and meeting the lovely little piglets! https://t.co/wbY7lppv5D

14/10/19

More pumpkin harvest fun! https://t.co/QyfdLcjliT

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Primary Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 

Paper copies of any information on this website will be provided free of charge to parents/carers on request.  Please contact info@harrisprimaryorpington.org.uk if you would like copies.
 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Matt Britt, at the Academy

Please contact him via the PA to Executive Principal, Vikki Melhuish, using the details below

Telephone: 01689 830383
Email: victoria.melhuish@harrisprimaryorpington.org.uk  
Address: Harris Primary Academy Orpington, Dyke Drive, Orpington, Kent, BR5 4LZ

If your complaint is about the Executive Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors also through Vikki Melhuish.

The complaints procedure can be downloaded from the bottom of this page.

 


 

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notice below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


 

Freedom of Information

 

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer

 

 


 

Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below.

 

Annual Report and Accounts

The Annual Report and Accounts for the Harris Federation can be found here.

 

Back to key info