Twitter

17/06/18

Thank you we had a blast! Thanks to Jordan our group leader. Huge thanks to Mrs Bakewell for all the hard work and to Mrs Brooks, Miss Dilworth, Miss Patel and Mrs Berthoud too! Lastly thanks HPAO kids, you did us proud and thought you were 👍🏻 https://t.co/n6vOCG9XgS

17/06/18

He was but then he did it!

17/06/18

Last activity - abseiling https://t.co/fL6Sx02EdV

17/06/18

Last activity time ☹️...low ropes https://t.co/mm5o2lm470

17/06/18

Low ropes... with Miss P and Mrs B. https://t.co/KnGb7yvLem

17/06/18

So proud of this one! https://t.co/HL4nZkmYtF

17/06/18

More brave abseilers https://t.co/7ZntmEllB3

17/06/18

First abseilers of the day... whizzing down the wall. https://t.co/8iP7Kvozhi

17/06/18

Bags packed, rooms checked, belongings reunited! Now for our morning activities. https://t.co/hDDvsjcg8M

17/06/18

Morning! We are up, only half awake and queuing for more yummy breakfast... https://t.co/cCjv3iXViO

16/06/18

Children have been fast asleep for a while (exhausted) and packed ready to leave tomorrow (sad). We have abseiling and low ropes after breakfast, lunch and then home. Night night!

16/06/18

Year 6 2018 signed football https://t.co/zXZ8w5Os0a

16/06/18

He has joined in everything and been full of smiles, maybe I just missed him in my photographing! Let me have a look through....

16/06/18

Last few photos before we go off to dinner and then start the evening entertainment. https://t.co/lddPjiPf7s

16/06/18

Marvellous Molly! https://t.co/ff2AWX6avL

16/06/18

The staff have given such care and guidance from the minute we arrived. Instant bonding and techniques to encourage children to move out of their comfort zone and try something new. As a result they overcome fears and we are so proud! https://t.co/PTDB32eL6Y

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Primary Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Mrs Lynne Dando, at the Academy

Please contact him via the office manager:

Vikki Melhuish using the details below

Telephone: 01689 830383
Email: victoria.melhuish@harrisprimaryorpington.org.uk  
Address: Harris Primary Academy Orpington, Dyke Drive, Orpington, Kent, BR5 4LZ

If your complaint is about the Executive Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors also through Vikki Melhuish.

Complaints Procedure

 


 

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notice below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


 

Freedom of Information

 

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer

 

 


 

Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

Back to key info