Twitter

25/05/18

Retweetd From Overbes

As a parent and governor of I am truly grateful and excited about this school. Big thank you to all the staff! Fantastic finish event at the school this morning. https://t.co/D0H7Vq5g4d

25/05/18

Tables full of learning on display in the gym today for our ‘fabulous finish’ to this half term’s topics. https://t.co/NpyclLAzx9

24/05/18

As a thank you to all the parents who have supported their children to maintain high attendance this half term, everyone can wear their own clothes tomorrow! https://t.co/YkJlWACUu6

23/05/18

Hooray! Well done indeed. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 https://t.co/nfjsmw090v

23/05/18

Congratulations to 3 Farah who had the longest line of pennies in the penny mile for today totalling 45 metres. A very special mention to Bluebelle whose contributions alone totalled 24.5 metres! https://t.co/gkrIwxEM2g

23/05/18

The penny mile for has been a great success with 226 metres of coins laid out in the hall. Thank you to everyone who sent money in... the winning class will be announced soon! https://t.co/IxPO9VyDKn

23/05/18

Retweetd From Boxing4Schools

Great work today to all 116 students we delivered to! All working towards July's S+F Competition working on their skill skipping routine👍 🏆🥊🥇 https://t.co/0V2Dymwrff

21/05/18

Michelle from visited us to talk in assembly to about the charity ahead of the penny mile fundraiser on Wednesday. https://t.co/YadMsB3rEO

20/05/18

A wonderful collaborative moment on the KS2 playground; French skipping with Mrs Brooks. https://t.co/g9PP3jgAHd

20/05/18

HPAO pupils chosen to be a mascot and a flag bearer at for the FA Trophy Final thanks to and St Andrew’s house charity . Remember we are holding a penny mile for them on Wednesday! https://t.co/nUnQZIubSK

17/05/18

Well done to all of our Year 6 children who have been amazing ALL week completing the . We are so proud of you. You are all stars! https://t.co/fbRr2pGfPu

17/05/18

Royal Wedding cupcakes with lunch today https://t.co/8NusKLyn5L

17/05/18

Our EYFS classrooms are full of happy children proudly sharing their learning profiles with family. https://t.co/cL3xaTUmVf

14/05/18

A cooked breakfast welcome for our wonderful Year 6 who are all in and full of smiles. https://t.co/irTPqOfmUS

08/05/18

3 Farah are very excited... our broad bean seeds are sprouting! https://t.co/bAXwnYDpjd

04/05/18

Reception enjoyed a fantastic morning in the sunshine at St Paul’s Recreation Ground! They climbed rocks, played on the enormous climbing frame and had lots of fun on the zip wire too! After a snack they played ‘Poohsticks’ on the bridge! https://t.co/nLxEu4jSiE

02/05/18

Tomorrow, Thursday 3rd May, we are closed for all children in YrR to Yr5. See you all as normal on Friday 4th when gates open at 8:30. https://t.co/brbJCjm0RY

02/05/18

Retweetd From Boxing4Schools

Boxing4Schools After School Club had a new level of speed and skill today, with the students bring totally focused on their work more to follow...............

19/04/18

Year 4 had a great day aboard the on Monday, enjoying the sights, smells and sounds of the steam train as their hook into learning. https://t.co/DebHEmPzpd

19/04/18

Year 3 enjoyed making (and eating) edible rainforests as the hook into our topic. https://t.co/CbWcFvZvAt

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Primary Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Mrs Lynne Dando, at the Academy

Please contact him via the office manager:

Vikki Melhuish using the details below

Telephone: 01689 830383
Email: victoria.melhuish@harrisprimaryorpington.org.uk  
Address: Harris Primary Academy Orpington, Dyke Drive, Orpington, Kent, BR5 4LZ

If your complaint is about the Executive Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors also through Vikki Melhuish.

Complaints Procedure

 


 

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notice below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


 

Freedom of Information

 

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer

 

 


 

Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

Back to key info